Sitonce
Country: US
Show exams for United States Hong Kong
Sign in
Short answers

How many times can you take the Texas insurance exam?

Compiled by the Sitonce editorial team from the Texas Insurance Code, the Texas Department of Insurance's own licensing pages and FY2025 examination report, and Pearson VUE's published content outlines and candidate handbookUpdated 3 min readFacts verified 6 September 2026
The short answer

The candidate handbook publishes no attempt limit for this license, so this site does not state one. Each attempt is a separate registration at USD 49 and you sit all 130 scored questions again. Nothing carries forward from a failed attempt.

The answer is an absence rather than a number, and we would rather say that plainly than invent a cap to fill the space.

What is and is not published

Attempt limit
None published for this license
Waiting period between attempts
None published for this license
Cost per attempt
USD 49
What you resit
All 130 scored questions, both portions
Carry-forward from a failed attempt
None
Booking
On demand, any open Pearson VUE appointment

If you have read a specific attempt cap or a thirty-day wait somewhere, check which examination that page was actually describing. Rules of that kind exist for other licenses and other states, and they get copied across without anyone noticing the license changed.

Treat an absence as an absence

No published cap is not the same as permission to sit repeatedly until something goes your way. Each attempt costs USD 49, and 57.7 percent of first-time candidates passed in fiscal year 2025, which means the population who sit again is large and not obviously succeeding by volume.

Sitting again without changing anything is the expensive version. You get the same result and a slightly worse mood.

The real constraint is the one-year window

Once you pass, the license application has to be filed within a year or the examination has to be retaken. That is the deadline that actually governs this process, and it applies to the pass rather than to the attempts.

So the sequence to keep in mind is: attempt until you pass, at USD 49 each, then move quickly. The one-year window is where people lose money for no reason at all.

What to change between attempts

Something specific. The score report gives you a scaled number and no section breakdown, so your own notes written immediately after the exam are the only diagnosis available, and they decay within a day.

Our guess at the most common failure, offered as reasoning rather than as data: too much time on the 30 Texas questions and not enough on the 100 general ones. TDI publishes pass rates rather than failure diagnostics, so nobody has the evidence to do better than reason from the structure of the paper.

Common questions

How many times can you take the Texas insurance exam?

No attempt limit is published for this license in Pearson's candidate handbook, so this site does not state one. Each attempt is a separate registration at USD 49 covering all 130 scored questions.

Is there a waiting period between attempts?

The candidate handbook sets none for this license. Appointments are on demand, so how soon you can sit again is governed by test center availability rather than by a published rule.

Does a failed attempt affect your license application?

The application is built on a passing result. We hold TDI's licensing pages rather than its adjudication practice, so anything beyond that is a determination for the Department rather than something this site should characterize.

Do you keep any credit from a failed attempt?

No. The general and Texas portions are scored as one combined result, so there is nothing to bank. A retake means sitting all 130 scored questions again from the start.